WhatUpThough


What A Coincidence
February 13, 2008, 5:48 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

“What A Coincidence”, back cover text for The Promise of a Future by Hugh Masekela, 1968.

WHAT A COINCIDENCE
everybody’s talking bout love
wherever I go these days….I swear
boy…WHAT A COINCIDENCE
that everybody finally wants to be known
to be comin‘ on so very groovy
all around my head
I hear the music getting louder
as the people are jumping
and a million reefers burning
while the fuzz are all crying
cause the world is through with lying
to all the babies on the way
boy…WHAT A COINCIDENCE

everybody’s talking bout love
wherever I go these days…I swear
boy…WHAT A COINCIDENCE
that everybody finally wants to known
to be comin‘ on so very groovy
all around my head
I hear the laughter of the cannons
as the soldiers are dying
and a million children burning
from the fires of hating
cause the world ain’t ready yet
for all the babies on the way
boy…WHAT A COINCIDENCE

everybody’s talking bout love
wherever I go these days…I swear
boy…WHAT A COINCIDENCE
that everybody finally wants to be known
to be comin‘ on so very groovy
all around my head
I hear the promise of a future
where the children are laughing
and a million hipper happenings
than the ones we’ve been having
just to spread a little love
for all the babies on the way
boy…WHAT A COINCIDENCE.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

