WhatUpThough


Count Bass D
February 29, 2008, 3:47 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

I don’t want to write too much here as I have another post going up for SmokingSection very soon, but I’ll just bite my opening line.

My respect for Count Bass D runs deep on many levels.

I’ve been hooked since Dwight Spitz dropped, but as I dig deeper into his disography and learn more about music, his work shines brighter and more vivid. A little over a month ago I got an email from him (with Dionne Farris and Paul Barman attached, [I felt special and out of place]) that was just titled L7. The email read I’m working hard on my next album L7, and included the picture above. That was it.

I caught up with Count the other day to chop it up about L7 and an upcoming mixtape he is going to release via ChipIn, which will be in the same vein as the link I posted to his wife Oriana’s album recently

The Smoking Section piece is on the mixtape, so I’ll keep the album goodies for myself, so follow the jump for some excerpts from the conversation.

On L7:

L7 is just another full length project in the tradition of….I don’t’ know, this is the first record I’ve had ProTools for; all my other records were straight to a hardisk recorder. It’s not like I’m a genius with ProTools or anything, but you know, you can just go the extra mile with ProTools. I guess it has more of an electronic feel to it. I’ve never really messed with keyboard beats, and people talk about how they don’t like keyboard beats, but you say that and you’re saying you can’t like Mantronix, or you can’t like Dub. If you say that shit, your wack! Also it’s funny because I haven’t written a chorus in years, like I haven’t had something I wanted to say over and over again. I don’t know though with the choruses, I might be able to grab a couple more robots, “throw ya hands up, throw ya hands up.” I’m just trying to keep it interesting for me. I feel like I make the records that make the other dudes reach. They might not reach as far out as I do because I go so far out, but I make them reach a little bit further. With sampling, as long as we keep that balance out there man, that’s all we can ask for. I know I’ve got supporters that are a derivitive of everybody out there, and I’m appreciative of that.”

And just a funny quote about the state of download sites.

“It’s funny because a lot of these places that give away music get all upset and angry like, such and such took a link. I would set a Google alert if my name comes up, so I would go and check it out. I would see all these people getting into arguments about who stole the links, and who did this or whatever, but I’m like wait a second, what about me? It’s my music! And you guys are arguing about who’s link it is? It’s like the pot calling the kettle black. I’m like wow, they really feel like they have ownership over your music. It’s wild. It’s kinda the same way, people get a sample, and I’m just putting out there and letting them contribute.”


You know I’ll give you a heads up when the final piece goes up, so keep an eye out. I can’t say it enough, but Count is that dude.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

