WhatUpThough


DJ Tap 10
April 24, 2008, 9:12 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Consider this the debut meet the DJ post. The idea is to feature a DJ, ask 5 quetions and then have a downloadable mix to accompany.

For the first installment we’re keeping it on the Bay Area tip with DJ Tap 10 of the soon to be famous Honor Roll crew. No need to preface anything, just check the links, read answers, and most importantly download the mixes! We got two different ones just to kick things off; one with acclaimed producer Trackademicks and another with Bay Area Vet Spank Pops. Both of which are very dope.

When did you start DJ’ing? And what pulled you in that direction?

I started DJing in High School. Back in Junior High and even
throughout High School, I would regularly record mixshows from the
local hip-hop station, KMEL… especially The Wake Up Show and The 10
O’clock Bomb. It was dope to hear DJs manipulate the songs with
blends, doubles, scratching. Back then I would go to hella hip-hop
shows at Maritime Hall in SF, and it was dope to see the DJs control
the crowd with the music. That’s when I really just wanted to get my
own shit. After 2 plus years of doing odd jobs, I raised enough
money for some equipment, plus some speakers and an amp!

Greatest memory as a DJ
There’s too many to name, but back when I was spinning at all the high
school gigs in Richmond, El Cerrito, Oakland and Berkeley, those were
the best gigs! Thats when I really got my DJ chops up, learning that
I had to play for the crowd and not myself! That was a big lesson,
cause I would stick to playing regular commercial radio stuff along
with the Rawkus, Stones Throw and ABB stuff I was into at that time.
Kids would rush me, asking me if I had album tracks from Lil Wayne’s
“Block Is Hot”! Of course I didn’t and I failed miserably at a few
gigs but soon after I learned all the “hood hits”!

When did the Honor Roll get together, and maybe explain a little about the
crew and your role in the crew?
Most of us had met through Youth Radio, a non-profit organization in
Berkeley back when we were in high school but we started rolling
official around 2001. It’s 7 of us in the crew… Trackademicks, 1
o.A.k., Spank Pops, Mike Baker the Bike Maker, Josie Stingray, MoxMore
and myself. I DJ for Track, along with doing A&R duties for the whole
crew and overseeing all things Honor Roll related.
What 5 records never leave the party crate?

Eric B & Rakim – Paid In Full (Coldcut Remix)
E-40 feat. B-Legit – Sideways
Soul II Soul – Back To Life
Loose Ends – Hangin’ On A String
Zapp & Roger – More Bounce To The Ounce

We got two mixes featured; the first is The [Re]Mixtape Vol. 2 and then The Truth Vol. 3. Can you give some background info on the two albums?

The [Re]Mixtape Vol. 2 consists of remixes Track has done over the
past couple years. It’s an introduction to his style, building off of
the first [Re]Mixtape, and it gives you a taste of what he’s bringing
to the table as an MC.

For The Truth Vol. 3, I wanted to include more original joints from
Spanks, rather than just making it a whole mix of freestyles and
mixtape songs. The mix features the entire Honor Roll crew, San
Quinn, Andre Nickatina and Bored Stiff.

(click the highlighted album titles to download)

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

[…] Contact WhatUpThough707@Gmail.Com Peace May 28, 2008, 5:37 pm Filed under: Uncategorized It’s been a good day for so many reasons: Between the One Block news, my homies and fellow Gurp City OG’s Grand Invincible, who you might have read about earlier on this blog, just signed with artist Alex Pardees’ Zero Friends label; I talked to Bill Adler today and he was mad cool; I interviewed Three 6 Mafia for Vapors, and a couple other things I’ll hit you with later. Peaks and valleys, that’s how this shit goes, which for a dude with mood swings like me is hard to handle at times. Anyway, I’m gonna be out in Oakland tomorrow night for the second stop in this years Red Bull Big Tune Beat Battle so I won’t be around to post something, but come Friday I should have something for ya. My predictions for Big Tune battle; 1 O.A.K. of the Honor Roll crew, who again, you may recognize from this blog. […]

Pingback by Peace « WhatUpThough




Leave a Reply

