WhatUpThough


Foreign Mind
June 17, 2008, 8:44 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

My knowledge of Reggae is abysmal to say the least. I’ve been trying to go out and explore the genre myself, but it always makes things easier when you have someone to walk you through it. Ironically, most of the dope Reggae I’ve found is because of Rap songs; namely Barington Levey via Shyne on “Bad Boyz” and most relevant, Junior Reid via Game. I’m not proud of this, and while I wasn’t a fan of Game’s song, through it I discovered Junior Reid’s Original Foreign Mind. Released in 1985, Original Foreign Mind carries heavy political themes and social commentary. It was the first Reggae album by anyone not named Bob that fucked my head not only musically, but lyrically as well. With a little research, I’m sure you can find it.

To bring it back, I got this CL Smooth track in the mail yesterday, which features Junior Reid resurrecting his famous chorus of “Original Foreign Mind.” Aptly titled “Foreign Mind” (had to drop the ‘original’ on principal), CL does his best to give the song new life. It’d be impossible to capture the raw essence of the original, but CL does sprinkle the track with the same calls of awareness. Nonetheless, it’s a good song and it’s just good to hear CL’s voice.

Junior Reid-Original Foreign Mind

CL Smooth w/ Junior Reid-Foreign Mind

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

