WhatUpThough


LA, LA Big City Of Dreams….
August 20, 2008, 2:54 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

It’s been a mainy week, with things kicking off last Wednesday driving down to LA with pops. I debated posting this because it’s going to be filled with name dropping and bragging, but I guess that’s what blogs are for.

The hustle kicked off Thursday, first with an interview with Shawn Jackson in support of his album First Of All. After that I went and kicked it with my folks at The Soup and attended the taping. Coincidentally Topanga (Danielle Fischel) was filming her debut show The Dish, which is essentially a women’s version of The Soup for the Style Network, so I got to meet her and exchange eye contact and a smile. I tried to stick around for the taping of that one, but they had some difficulties and it was 11 and I was still sober so I was having some difficulties as well. Ended up in a Korea town dive bar with buttfaced Korean women singing karaoke.

On Friday I headed out to Venice where I caught up with an old friend and rode bikes on the beach and got tacos and beer. Later that afternoon One Block Radius had an industry meet and greet at Gibson Studios with mad sushi and drank. I usually hate these things but this one was dope, probably cause it was the homies. They ripped it and people were definlety feeling it, but the highlight came with the label head exclaiming that this was the most excited they’ve been about a signing in a long time. Fuck what ya thought, they ain’t getting jerked! After that I went and caught a Flying Lotus in store at Amoeba which also was real dope.

Saturday started off pretty chill. Went and had brunch with the homegirl Hathaway from The Soup and then took a nap in Echo Park. Around 6 I linked up with One Block at Gower Studios off Sunset on the set of their upcoming video “Dead Man Radio.” I actually never made it to the set, and just ended up chopping it up wih the homie Rhythm X and eating free sandwiches and Twizzlers. You can me lamping with the folks and some surprise guests here. From there it was off to the Echo Plex for an epic Azymuth performance. Madlib and J Rocc opened up, but the night was Azymuths’. Incredible show.

Sunday was low key, and after lunch with the youngest Boss in the game J. Kim I ended up slumming around Venice Beach with the homie Kevin Henderson.

Monday it was back on the grizzly, and what might be one of the most incredible days of my life. Around noon I headed out to Silver Lake for an Azymuth studio session. The energy in the room was unlike anything I’ve experienced, and the music they were creating was amazing. I’m not quite sure what it was for, but I can’t wait to hear the final product. After a couple hours it was off to West Hollywood to catch up with Arabian Prince at the Rehab DJ clinic. Dude was mad cool, and gave a cool interview. After an hour it was back to the studio, but by this time Madlib and J Rocc had joined Azymuth. I was able to catch the last pieces of a “Rico Bossa Nova” cover being put together, with a vocal session of all the artists mentioned. After the session I got to conduct a nice interview with Azymuth for WaxPoetics.com, and while they spoke in Portugese and I couldn’t understand a word they said, it was still a priceless opportunity.

And it came to an end yesterday, with a great interview with Illa J.

Lots of video to come soon so stay tuned.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

doin’ it big rellish! that’s what I’m talkin’ about.

Comment by maxonemillion

Damn, I’m just gonna live vicariously through you, mayne. As the homie Max sayeth, keep doin’ it big rellish.

Comment by Looms

holy cow.

um, did you get to meet joel mchale? love him!

Comment by diane

Did you get the hummer though?

Comment by Daniel Taylor




Leave a Reply

