WhatUpThough


5 In The Morning, Mail At My Door
October 27, 2008, 9:36 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

An easy post while I eat some cereal…

Madlib w/ Frank-N-Dank: “Drinks Up”

I expected an anthem, but that’s not what we get here, at all. Last time these three got together we got this, and while I’m never mad at a ‘banging on the lunch table’ beat, it’s not what Frank-N-Dank do best.

E-40 w/ Diamond Princess and Shawty Lo: “Break Ya Ankles” remix

AKA “Snap Ya Fingers” but with your feet. I’m worried about The Ball Street Journal. Too much Droop and Lil Jon and not enough Rick Rock and Studio Ton.

Jamie Lidell: “Out Of My System” Zion I remix

I don’t know the original so I don’t know how Amp Live flipped it, but I can see why some people would love this and others would hate it. For those that hate, try this one….

Zion I: “The Rebel”

The first leak off their upcoming mixtape (which will actually be released on tape), “The Rebel” is a remake of PE’s “Rebel Without A Pause.” It doesn’t match the intensity, but I got no qualms banging it out.

And one from the vaults

Equipto: “I’ll Never Leave You” off his album Sketches From The Inside Out

The homie Dirty Paul copped this rare release from Equipto’s catalog, and I would bump this song on repeat. The beat is nuts, produced by DJ Pause I believe, and as always Equipto kills it on the smooth assasin shit. On a sidenote, props to Block Monster Brandon B for making moves. Trust you’ll be hearing a lot more about Equipto, DJ Pause and Shag Nasty here in the future.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

